Rainy evening in Shibuya Tokyo

shibuya-street

I arrived in Tokyo on a rainy evening, but the weather wasn’t going to keep me from exploring. Right away I stepped out into the streets of Shibuya to experience first hand one of the busiest neighborhoods in Tokyo, and navigate my way through the crowded sidewalks.

shibuya-graf

shibuya-109

Shibuya is known for its trendy shops, and many of them are inside the famous Shibuya 109 building- that tall cylinder shopping nexus for all the cool young fashion lovers. I browsed a little, but I didn’t actually do much shopping that evening. It was mostly spent walking around among the bright billboards and people watching from under my umbrella.

shibuya-rain-3

shibuya-statue

And of course I had to stop at the at the statue of Hachiko – ledgendary loyal dog and beloved local icon. There were dozens of people taking photos with the statue despite the pouring rain. It was a wet evening, but nothing a warm sake couldn’t cure. Not a bad first night in Tokyo!

shibuya-umbrellas

 

2 thoughts on “Rainy evening in Shibuya Tokyo

Leave a comment